My First Liebster Award!

19

When I found out that the wonderful Little Bits of Classics nominated me for a Liebster Award, I was absolutely thrilled! Of course I’m still relatively new to the blogashphere so at first I didn’t know what the award meant, but being nominated for anything after only two posts is pretty incredible! Once again, thank you so much for the honor, and on with the post!

Which five actors do you wish had played together in a movie once (it’s not a problem if they didn’t live at the same time)?

I would have really liked to see all of the best dancers in one number: Fred Astaire, Gene Kelly, Ginger Rogers, Rita Hayworth, and Cyd Charisse. I could easily see a scene in which Fred and Gene change partners between the three girls, and I’m sure it would have been marvelous to compare the five in one setting.

Which movie do you think should never have made it into AFI’s top 100 list?

To be quite honest, I think there are a lot of films on the list that don’t deserve to be there. I’m mainly referring to some of the more modern ones, because while they’re regarded as fine movies now I really don’t think that they will be regarded as such a hundred years from now, unlike some other classics. If I had to choose one film, though, I would definitely say E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982). While the special effects were groundbreaking for their time, I truly don’t feel like it will have a lasting legacy aside from being regarded as a joke. I especially don’t think that it deserves to be so high up on the list at #24, far above many films that have already proven themselves as classics.

Whose life would you like to see a biographical movie on?

I would really like to see an Esther Williams biopic. I think she was an incredible woman with such a complex and intruiging history, and people should learn about who she really was as well as all of the hardships that she had to face in order to become the bright and wholesome pinup girl that we all know her as today.

Which completed TV series do you wish had another season?

I don’t watch a lot of television these days, but I think I would definitely like to see another season of Pushing Daisies. The show had such a unique concept and the cinematography was absolutely breathtaking.

How early do you start writing an entry for a blogathon?

It really depends. I’ve only participated in two blogathons before, but for my first one I believe I wrote it a week or so in advance, and I wrote the Olivia de Havilland post about three days beforehand. I usually type the entire post out in one go, and then go back for corrections the night before I post it.

Which movie star would you have liked to visit at his or her home?

I would have loved to visit Jayne Mansfield and see her Pink Palace in person, both because she’s always been one of my favorite actresses and because her home was one of the most famous. It was also unfortunately demolished in 2002, so I would never be able to see it otherwise.

What is the favourite movie of your parents?

My mother has a few favorites, but her all-time favorites are probably Forrest Gump (1994) and The Shawshank Redemption (1994). My dad enjoys war movies and westerns (especially John Wayne films), but I think his favorite is The Longest Day (1962), if I’m not mistaken.

During which movie’s shooting would you have liked to be a fly on the wall?

This is a really hard one! I definitely want to say one of the classics like Gone With the Wind (1939) or The Wizard of Oz (1939), but I think it would be really cool to see the filming of a Hitchock movie like Rear Window (1954) or to see Marilyn in her element in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (1953). If I had to choose only one, though, I think I would say The Wizard of Oz (1939).

Is there an actor or an actress who you’ve seen in every single movie they’ve ever appeared in?

I don’t think there’s one that I’ve seen every film of, but I’ve seen every Grace Kelly film except Green Fire (1954), and I’ve seen about twenty Tyrone Power films, which I like to think is a lot.

Whose Oscar ceremony speech is your favourite?

From the ones that I know of (which are fairly few, I’m afraid), I would have to say that Rita Moreno’s Best Supporting Actress speech for West Side Story (1961) was really adorable, and I can’t believe how young she looked!

Who did you receive your latest Liebster Award from?

This is my very first Liebster Award, and I recieved it from the marvelous Little Bits of Classics!


I’m going to nominate a few classic film blogs that I follow who I’d like to get to know a little bit better:

And here are my questions! I hope they’re thought-provoking enough, and I hope that you have time to answer them!


1. If you had to choose one classic film to be remade today, which would it be and why?

2. Which modern actors would you cast in the remake, and why?

3. Choose three of your favorite classic film directors, and list your favorite film of each.

4. Who is your favorite onscreen classic film couple, and why?

5. Who is your favorite offscreen classic film couple, and why?

6. Name two classic film stars that you wish had made a film together.

7. What was the first classic film you saw, and what did you like about it?

8. Name one classic film that always makes you smile, and one that always makes you cry.

9. List all of the classic film actors that you despise, or think are overrated (if any).

10. If you could bring one classic film actor back to life (they would be in their prime), who would it be and why?

11. You just moved to Hollywood and you’re hosting a dinner party. Name nine classic film stars (producers and directors count too!) that you would invite, living or dead.

6 thoughts on “My First Liebster Award!

    1. So glad you could answer my questions, and I really love your replies! Bogie and Bacall were perfect on and off the screen, and it really would be wonderful to have someone like Cary Grant around today!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congrats. Probably a good thing they don’t nominate me for one of those awards. I tend to be flip sometimes. For the question “whose Oscar ceremony speech is your favourite?” my first thought was what David Niven said after the flasher came on stage….

    “Isn’t it fascinating to think that probably the only laugh that man will ever get in his life is by stripping off and showing his shortcomings?”

    Like

    1. I love that answer! He was such a classy and funny guy, even in situations like that one. To be honest, I think I could have found many good answers to that question if I watched more old Hollywood Oscar ceremonies. If I’m ever nominated again I’ll nominate you because it seems like you have some great insight!

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you answered my questions and that you enjoyed doing so! I really love the ideas you introduced to me – I think I shall look into Rita Moreno’s speech (I’m not an expert on Oscar speeches, either, I was just interested in the opinion of others :D) and check out Jayne Mansfield’s house.

    Like

  3. Hello There! I’m Emily from the Flapper Dame and I also follow you on Tumblr! I’m so glad you also have a wordpress- and that you love Grace Kelly! I just started following you (sorry that took a while- you’ve been following me for a bit now!) Nice answers and look forward to blogging/ watching with you! – Emily

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

